Martin Scholarship

The Oregon Turfgrass Foundation manages two scholarship funds. The first, the Martin Scholarship was established in 1996 by the Martin family in honor of husband and father, Bill Martin. Bill was a PGA Golf Professional as well as a superintendent, club owner and long time member of the Oregon Golf Course Superintendents Association (OGCSA). He served as President of the OGCSA in 1960 when he moved from Forest Hills Golf Course to Agate Beach Golf Course in Newport, Oregon. In the early 60’s the OGCSA moved its annual meeting to Agate Beach and enjoyed many years of the Martin family’s gracious hospitality at the Annual Crab Feed held in conjunction with the OGCSA Annual Meeting. After Bill’s death in 1995, Bill’s wife, Ramona and children, Kathe and Terry set up the scholarship fund which is presented annually to a deserving student enrolled in the turfgrass program at Oregon State University. The fund is currently held and managed by the Oregon Turfgrass Foundation. Past Martin Scholarship winners are:

2021:  Ryder Johnson

2020: Scott Johnson

2019: Jeremy Lee

2018: Evan McFadden

2017:  Evan McFadden

2016: Evan McFadden
2015: Joel Balsiger
2014: Micah Gould
2013: Cory Fadenrecht
2012: Danny Vandecovering
2011: Jeremy Galvin
2010: Ty Patton
2009: Josh Lewis
2008: Chad Kosel
2007: Jason Oliver
2006: Jason Oliver
2005: Andrew Rundstrom
2004: Troy Schader
2003: Jeff Knutzen
2002: Michael Fuester
2001: William Barnes
2000: Brian McDonald
1999: Jerrod Kunde
1998: Pete Tescher
1997: Micah Woods
1996: To Huesgen, Jr.

Whitworth Scholarship

Norm Whitworth, owner of Norm Whitworth Turf Products was an affiliate member of the OGCSA for nearly 30 years and served several times on the board as an Affiliate Director. He was also active in the Northwest Turfgrass Association, serving for many years on the NTA board of directors as well as holding the office of President in the early 80’s. Norm’s passion was golf and after his death in December, 2000 a scholarship fund was established with donations from Wilbur-Ellis Company and Turf Seed/Tee-2-Green Corporation. For several years a donation was also made from the annual Musser Foundation Tournament which Norm helped run for nearly 25 years. The Whitworth Scholarship is awarded to a deserving turfgrass program student from the Northwest. The fund is currently held and managed by the Oregon Turfgrass Foundation. Past Whitworth Scholarship winners are:

2021:  Vince Romo

2020:  Vince Romo

2019: Grant Roth

2018:  Clint Mattox

2017: Conner Olsen

2016: Clint Mattox
2015: Micah Gould
2014: Clint Mattox
2013: Lyle Gibbs
2012: Warren Gawlik
2011: Danny Vandecoevering
2010: Caleb Taskinen
2009: Matt Coombs
2008: Jeff Mason
2007: Jeff Cady
2006: Luke Hall
2005: Steven Beyer
2004: Andrew Vidourek
2003: Kurt Wright
2002: Nolan Wenker